Wednesday, January 17, 2018

NDSU Football Coaches Clinic

FARGO, N.D. - North Dakota State University's annual football coaches clinic is scheduled for Friday, April 13, and Saturday, April 14, at the Fargodome featuring performance coach Ben Newman on Friday and Baltimore Ravens associate head coach Jerry Rosburg on Saturday.

Friday's program includes NDSU head coach Chris Klieman, offensive and defensive breakout sessions with the NDSU assistant coaches, and presentations by three veteran college coaches:
·         Rich Wright, head coach and former defensive coordinator at Northwest Missouri State,
·         Matt Wheeler, offensive coordinator at Wartburg College, and
·         Randy Hart, former defensive line coach at Iowa State, Purdue, Ohio State, Washington, Notre Dame and Stanford.

Saturday's schedule includes on-field drill demonstrations with the NDSU coaching staff and a strength and conditioning presentation by NDSU director of athletic performance Jim Kramer.

Coaches attending the clinic are invited to watch NDSU practice on Friday and Saturday.  Dinner on Friday night and breakfast on Saturday morning will be provided.

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Kelly Lopez Named NDSU Assistant Volleyball Coach

FARGO, N.D. – North Dakota State University women’s head volleyball coach Jennifer Lopez announced that older sister and former teammate Kelly Lopez has joined the staff as an assistant coach.

“I am very excited for the addition of Kelly to our staff, and for her to be back working with our volleyball program. Her leadership, values, and passion for the game of volleyball and NDSU are going to be a great fit,” said Jennifer Lopez, who completed her first season as head coach.

Kelly, a native of Glyndon, Minn., has been the associate director of sports performance at Boise State University since 2014, working directly with seven sports including women’s volleyball and women’s beach volleyball, and also assisted with men’s basketball.

“I am extremely excited and honored to be back at NDSU and work with the women’s volleyball program. I am grateful for the opportunity Coach (Jennifer) Lopez has given me, and am eager to begin working with our staff and young women,” said Kelly Lopez.

Kelly was the assistant strength and conditioning coach at North Dakota State from 2012-14, while also serving as a graduate assistant and intern in the NDSU strength and conditioning program working her way up the ladder. She earned her bachelor’s degree in exercise science from North Dakota State in 2010 and master’s degree in exercise from NDSU in August 2017.

Her resume includes club volleyball coaching experience for West Fargo, Minnesota Black Ice and Oak Grove. She’s been a regular on the summer volleyball camp circuit at NDSU, West Fargo, Kindred, Hawley, Oak Grove and Courts Plus.

A four-year starter for North Dakota State from 2005-09, Kelly was a two-time Summit League Defensive Player of the Year in leading the Bison to the 2008 league tournament championship, along with a pair of regular season league titles. She was also a two-time all-league second team selection. Kelly still ranks No. 4 all-time at NDSU with 3.49 digs per set and No. 9 with 1,382 digs.

Kelly was a five-year starter, five-time all-Heart O’ Lakes Conference selection, and three-time conference MVP on the volleyball court for Dilworth-Glyndon Felton High. The Rebels were the 2004 Class AA state runner-up. She was Minnesota’s Gatorade Player of the Year in 2004 and All-American. Kelly finished her career with 1931 kills and 1423 digs, and also scored more than 1,000 points on the basketball court for D-G-F.

North Dakota State finished the season with a 19-9 record including 9-5 in the Summit League. The Bison advanced to the league tournament semifinals for the ninth time.

UMC FB Coach Derr Takes Position in Poland

CROOKSTON, Minn. – The University of Minnesota Crookston football program announced that assistant coach/strength & conditioning coordinator Derek Derr has resigned to take a position as defensive coordinator for the Panthers Wroclaw of the Polish American Football League and the IFAF Europe Champions League.

The Panthers Wroclaw won the PAFL title last season. They are located in Wroclaw, Poland. The team was founded in 2013 by the merger of Giants Wroclaw and Devils Wroclaw. They have competed in the Polish Bowl every season since their founding, winning it twice. The PAFL includes seven teams across Poland.

“Coach Derr did an excellent job coaching his position group this fall,” said Head Coach Mark Dufner. “In addition, he was able to enhance our weight program by utilizing the ideas of some well-known strength and conditioning professionals;  we will be utilizing many of these concepts in our offseason program.  I wish him the best.”

Derr joined the Golden Eagle football staff in July of 2017. His main responsibility was the coordinator of all strength and conditioning efforts for the Minnesota Crookston football program. In addition, he helped coach the running backs, fullbacks and tight ends for the Golden Eagles during the 2017 season. Derr came to Minnesota Crookston after spending seven seasons as an assistant coach for his alma mater Peru State College in Peru, Neb. He was most recently the defensive coordinator for Peru State prior to his arrival at Minnesota Crookston.

The Golden Eagles are looking to immediately fill two positions on their staff. They have an opening for an offensive coordinator and a position coach. The position that the assistant coach will have responsibility over will be determined by the specialties of the offensive coordinator that is hired.